Volvo Forums banner

1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey, hey!
What's up everyone? I am new to Volvo and my first sweed ride is my 1992 240 wagon, automatic, she's a real nice white on tan, showing a young and healthy 259k/mi! The car runs and drives well but needs some basic mechanical/electrical work and a little paint work to the hood for what I consider to be a travesty of a touch up job, sadly I work 2nd shift so the pics are not gonna happen until the weekend (sorry) but here is a rundown of whats gonna happen in the next few weeks.
1: valve adjustment including timing belt and water pump, wish me luck it's my first time going to the dance.
2: a/c system has busted hose and needs recharged also going to need all new o-rings and most likely the accumulator (easy, and the comp still works).
3: cold setting for air seems hot, may need a heater valve (?) or adjustment to cabling/controls as i'm not exactly sure how the cars climate system works.
4: temp gauge bounces around, may need a new send unit or I have a wild ground somewhere so I guess that means cleaning all the grounds plus the send unit replacement.
5: don't like the looks of the fuses and some of the contacts seem flaky as in corrosion so the board needs cleaned and fuses replaced.
6: of course some of the lenses need replaced so its time for new 3 color in the rear and full orange up front to replace the clears as I dig amber corners.
7: wheels are steel but a style I have never seen before, they seem to be from an earlier model, and have a two piece 8" polished stainless hubcaps, as well as 5 small triangular holes with an indent between each hole. The wheels need refinished and are currently wearing a surprisingly new set of blizzaks that I will either shelf or sale and get all seasons, as it will not be driven in ohio road salt.